IEEE Nanotechnology Materials and Devices Conference (NMDC)

NMDC 2018 Announces Plenary Speakers

Portland, Ore. March 9, 2018

The NMDC 2018 Organizing Committee is pleased to announce its initial lineup of Plenary Speakers. For full details check the website.

Prof. Jesus del Alamo

Prof. del Alamo is Director of the Microsystems Technology Laboratories and Donner Professor and Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, MA, USA.


Prof. Nader Engheta

Prof. Engheta is H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering and Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA.

He is an IEEE Fellow and the IEEE Nanotechnology Council’s 2018 Pioneer Award Winner “For his transformative contributions to the nanoscience and nanotechnology of photonic metamaterials and for the development of optical nanocircuits”.

Prof. Engheta’s topic will be “Near-Zero-Index Photonic Materials and Devices”.

His current research activities span a broad range of areas including photonics, metamaterials, nano-optics, graphene optics, electrodynamics, imaging and sensing inspired by eyes of animal species, microwave and optical antennas, and physics and engineering of fields and waves. He has received several awards for his research including the 2017 William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award from the IEEE Photonics Society, the 2015 Gold Medal from SPIE, the 2015 Fellow of US National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the 2014 Balthasar van der Pol Gold Medal from the International Union of Radio Science (URSI), the 2017 Beacon of Photonics Industry Award from the Photonics Media, the 2015 Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship Award from US Department of Defense, the 2012 IEEE Electromagnetics Award, the 2015 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Achievement Award, the 2015 Wheatstone Lecture in King’s College London, the 2013 Inaugural SINA Award in Engineering, 2006 Scientific American Magazine 50 Leaders in Science and Technology, the Guggenheim Fellowship, and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal.


Ian A. Young

Ian Young is an Intel Senior Fellow in the Technology and Manufacturing Group and Director, Exploratory Integrated Circuits, at
Intel  in Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Dr. Young’s topic will be “Beyond CMOS Materials and Devices for Energy Efficient Computing”




Comments are closed.